IEA Clean Coal Centre
The global resource on the clean use of coal
IEA Clean Coal Centre \ Home Section \ Our origins
Our origins

The IEA Clean Coal Centre (CCC) was established in 1975 by the International Energy Agency (IEA) which is itself part of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The aim of the IEA is to foster co-operation among the twenty-four participating countries in order to increase energy security through diversification of energy supply, cleaner and more efficient use of energy, and energy conservation. This is achieved, in part, through a programme of collaborative research and development of which the IEA Clean Coal Centre is by far the largest and the longest established single project.  The Clean Coal Centre is one of over 40 active technoogy cooperation programmes of the IEA. The Implementing Agreement framework provides a legal mechanism for establishing the commitments of the participants and a management structure.

The IEA Clean Coal Centre is a non-profit organisation funded primarily by member subscriptions which means that there is no political or commercial influence on the research and information provided by the organisation. The IEA Clean Coal Centre is governed by representatives of member countries, the European Commission, and industrial sponsors who decide the programme of work which includes major studies of importance for all countries involved in the use or supply of coal. 

The IEA Clean Coal Centre is based in London with a team of approximately 20, largely made up of engineers, scientists and information specialists. The Centre is a leading producer of unbiased research on the global use of coal.

The photograph shows Mr Leslie Grainger, member of  the Coal Board, Dr Ulf Lantzke, Executive Director of the IEA, Alex Eadie MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Department of Energy, and Sir Derek Ezra, Chairman of the National Coal Board. They are  signing  the document that opened the premises of the new NCB (IEA Service) Limited in Grosvenor PLace, London on 6 September 1976.


Mr Leslie Grainger, Dr Ulf Lantzke, Alex Eadie (MP) and Sir Derek Ezra
Other Pages of Interest
IEA CCC Quicklinks
Mission Statement
Contact us
Register for email alerts
What are clean coal technologies?
Clean Coal Centre activities
Member countries/Sponsors
External Pages
International Energy Agency

Watch the History of Coal




Information or material of the Technology Collaboration Programme (TCP) on Clean Coal Centre (CCC TCP) (formally organised under the auspices of the Implementing Agreement for the IEA Clean Coal Centre), does not necessarily represent the views or policies of the IEA Secretariat or of the IEA’s individual Member countries. The IEA does not make any representation or warranty (express or implied) in respect of such information (including as to its completeness, accuracy or non-infringement) and shall not be held liable for any use of, or reliance on, such information.

IEA Clean Coal Centre,  Apsley House, Third Floor, 176 Upper Richmond Road, London, SW15 2SH.  United Kingdom
Tel +44 (0)20 3905 3870